Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon #BookReview #BooksOnTour #MurderInTheBelltower #CozyMystery #Series #NetGalley @NellDixon @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon, published by Bookouture.

Continue reading Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon #BookReview #BooksOnTour #MurderInTheBelltower #CozyMystery #Series #NetGalley @NellDixon @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon #BookReview #MurderInTheBelltower #Series #CozyMystery #NetGalley @NellDixon @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookblog

 

Today I am reviewing Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon. This was released on the 1st of February, published by Bookouture.

Book Blurb

Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open… at murder.
Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace – aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched – is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction.

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead.

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in…

An addictive, absorbing and completely unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

A well earned break from sleuthing and a trip to visit her family at Enderley Hall for Christmas, is just what Kitty Underhay needs. But when the local parish clerk, Miss Plenderleith, is found dead on her front door step, Kitty isn’t as confident as the police, that this was just an unfortunate accident.

Murder in the Belltower is the fifth instalment in the Kitty Underhay series and while it can be read as a standalone, there is a continuing subplot throughout the previous books involving Kitty’s mother, that is best read from the start. I enjoyed the mystery in this one and was right by Kitty’s side as she put her sleuthing skills to use again, when her instincts tell her that there is more to Miss Plenderleith death than what appears.

Although I was so happy to read that Kitty and Matt are now officially “stepping out” with each other, I have to admit, I was worried that this would change the feel of the book. You know when you have been waiting for a while for characters to get together, only for it to sometimes be a bit anticlimactic when they do, I was glad to find this wasn’t the case here.

I did find though, that this instalment moved at a slightly slower pace up against the previous books and things really don’t kick off until the halfway mark. In saying that though, the first half is still an enjoyable read as we get to know some new characters as well as the change in Kitty’s and Matt’s relationship.

Murder in the Belltower is a quick fun read and is another great addition to the series. As always the writing is on point and its time setting in the 1930’s, is well researched and brought to life beautifully. It was a pleasure to read and review Murder in the Belltower, which I recommend.

Thank you to Helena Dixon, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Murder in the Belltower, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Buy here

Before You Were Gone by Sheila Bugler #BookReview #BeforeYouWereGone #Thriller #Series #NetGalley @sheilab10 @CaneloCrime #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing on its publication day Before You Were Gone by Sheila Bugler, published by Canelo Crime.

Continue reading Before You Were Gone by Sheila Bugler #BookReview #BeforeYouWereGone #Thriller #Series #NetGalley @sheilab10 @CaneloCrime #onceuponatimebookreviews

Before You Were Gone by Sheila Bugler #BookReview #BeforeYouWereGone #Series #CrimeThriller #NetGalley @sheilab10 @CaneloCrime #onceuponatimebookblog

 

Today I am reviewing Before You Were Gone by Sheila Bugler. This was released on the 28th of January, published by Canelo Crime.



Book Blurb

The truth can’t stay buried forever…

Emer Doran’s life was torn apart when her sister, Kitty, drowned. Her body was never recovered. Twenty years later, Emer sees a woman who is the image of Kitty. In that brief moment, Emer is convinced – her sister is alive.

Dee Doran jumps at the chance to get to know her long-lost cousin when Emer calls asking to meet. But it is not the happy family reunion Dee had expected. Emer is desperate for Dee’s help to find out what really happened to Kitty.

As Dee works to uncover the truth, one thing becomes clear: there is a tangled web of lies that date back many years. And those with the answers are determined to keep their secrets at any cost.

A tense and gripping crime thriller perfect for fans of Alex Marwood and Fiona Barton.

Before You Were Gone is the third instalment in the Eastbourne series featuring journalist Dee Doran and whilst it can be read as a standalone, I do encourage you to read the previous two books to fully immerse yourself in it’s brilliance. You won’t be disappointed!

When Dee Doran receives a call from her long lost cousin Emer, wanting her help in locating a woman whom she believes is her dead sister Kitty, Dee jumps at the chance. But the deeper she becomes involved, the more herself and Emer put themselves in danger. Someone is hiding a deeply buried secret and they will do anything to make sure it stays that way…

I loved the premise for this story and was immediately hooked and caught up in trying to solve this mystery alongside Dee and Emer. Could this woman really be Kitty? I was just as invested to uncover the truth as the others were and when the story took a dramatic turn at the halfway mark, that was when things really got good! A brilliant twist that caught me off guard!

I loved catching up with Dee again, which also makes you feel like you are catching up with an old friend. She is such a great character and my heart was breaking for her as she threw herself into this latest mystery, as a way of trying to avoid the inevitable with what occurs in a smaller subplot.

The setting in Eastbourne, is just magical. Through each book Sheila Bugler brings the sea side town to life so vividly, adding another element of perfection to the series. I love when books are set in this environment in this genre, It really adds to its chilling and sinister tone.

Before You Were Gone is a perfectly written, gripping and suspenseful crime thriller that will have you reading long into the night as you race through the pages. I absolutely love this series and I am hopeful for some more to come. I have everything crossed! It was an absolute pleasure to read and review Before You Were Gone, which I highly recommend.

Thank you to Sheila Bugler, Canelo Crime and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Before You Were Gone, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.


This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Buy here

Two Wrongs by Rebecca Reid #BookReview #BlogTour #TwoWrongs #PsychologicalThriller #NetGalley @RebeccaCNReid @TransworldBooks @DamppebblesBTs #dampebblesblogtours #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the blog tour and reviewing Two Wrongs by Rebecca Reid. This was released on the 21st of January, published by Transworld Books.

Continue reading Two Wrongs by Rebecca Reid #BookReview #BlogTour #TwoWrongs #PsychologicalThriller #NetGalley @RebeccaCNReid @TransworldBooks @DamppebblesBTs #dampebblesblogtours #onceuponatimebookreviews

The Secret Within by Lucy Dawson #BookReview #BooksOnTour #TheSecretWithin #PsychologicalThriller #NetGalley @lucydawsonbooks @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing on its publication day The Secret Within by Lucy Dawson, published by Bookouture.

Continue reading The Secret Within by Lucy Dawson #BookReview #BooksOnTour #TheSecretWithin #PsychologicalThriller #NetGalley @lucydawsonbooks @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews
%d bloggers like this: