What They Saw by M.M. Chouinard #BookReview #BooksOnTour #WhatTheySaw #CrimeThriller #PoliceProcedural #Series @m_m_chouinard @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing What They Saw by M.M. Chouinard, published by Bookouture.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Next to the lake’s dappled water, a woman lies on her yoga mat, her limbs twisted as if she is trying to crawl away. Her mug of tea steams into the cool air and her lips, still warm, are parted mid-sentence. But she will never speak or see again…

When Sandra Ashville is found murdered in a sleepy town near Oakhurst, Detective Jo Fournier is first at the scene. Jo is shaken by the similarities between herself and the dead assistant District Attorney, a dedicated woman with a heart for justice. And as she examines Sandra’s body, Jo discovers something that chills her to the bone: the bullet hole is covered by an intact blindfold. Why was Sandra only blindfolded after her death?

The very next morning Jo receives a shocking call. A judge has been brutally killed, before she too was blindfolded. Soon it becomes clear that the twisted serial killer is working with a deadly countdown: every morning, another body will be found. Working around the clock, Jo makes an important break-through: all the victims are connected to the same murder trial. And Jo’s dear friend and partner Bob Arnett could be next…

With the next morning rapidly approaching, Jo and her team pull out all the stops to catch the killer. But when she uncovers a stain of corruption that includes Bob, Jo faces an impossible choice. Can she trust her partner, when the evidence suggests he turned a blind eye to a grave miscarriage of justice? And as the body count rises, can Jo catch the killer before it is too late for her oldest friend?

From USA Today bestseller M.M. Chouinard, What They Saw is an utterly addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you reading into the early hours! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen.

Six books into this series and each one is as though it is the first. There is no stopping Chouinard, who once again gives the reader another fantastic and chilling read with What They Saw.

For Detective Jo Fournier and the team, the case is a little to close to home, with our serial killer targeting people working in the justice system. First an ADA, then a judge, it’s not long before the penny drops the these deaths relate to a murder trial that they were both involved in, as was Jo’s partner Bob Arnett, who could become the next victim.

I really enjoyed this case that kept me engaged from beginning to end. Chouinard never fails at kicking things off with a opening chapter that pulls you in and has you immediately hooked. And in this case, it’s a ripper! From there it hits the ground running and doesn’t let up till the final page.

There were plenty of heart racing and edge of your seat moments that had me gripping my Kindle for dear life! My anxiety levels were at an all time high not knowing how it was all going to unfold. Chouinard is definitely the master of suspense and you get that and so much more in this instalment. All round What They Saw is another winner and I look forward to reading more.

Thank you to M.M. Chouinard, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of What They Saw, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Amazon Australia, US & UK. I will also add to, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, Foyles and BookBub if available.

BUY LINKS

Amazon AU
Amazon US
Amazon UK

WHAT THEY SAW BOOKS ON TOUR

Follow the tour along the way for these bloggers thoughts about this book. My thanks to Bookouture for my spot on this books on tour and for the promotional materials.

LET’S GET TO KNOW M.M. CHOUINARD

M.M. Chouinard is the author of the Detective Jo Fournier mystery thrillers, and the standalone mystery thriller The Vacation.

Her first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after.

While pursuing a Ph.D in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millenium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity’s sake, she released them.

AUTHOR LINKS

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

TikTok
Goodreads
Website

Author email sign up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s