Mystery at Southwood School by Clare Chase #BookReview #BooksOnTour #MysteryAtSouthwoodSchool #CozyMystery #Series @ClareChase @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing Mystery at Southwood School by Clare Chase, published by Bookouture.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Eve Mallow’s going back to school! But when a former student is murdered, Eve must discover who taught her a deadly lesson…

Eve Mallow is delighted when she’s asked to cater Founders’ Day at Southwood School. It’s the best – and most secretive – school for miles around, and Eve can’t wait to see what it’s really like. But when she arrives, the atmosphere is far from scholarly. Natalie Somerson, ex-pupil and professional gossip, is the guest of honour, but nobody seems to want her there… especially when her speech stirs up an old scandal about a secret love affair. So why was she invited?

The next morning, Natalie is found dead in a locked attic room. To make matters worse, Eve’s boyfriend Robin becomes the police’s prime suspect. Determined to prove his innocence, Eve starts to investigate everyone with a stake in the school. Is it the prudish principal, worried about Natalie’s influence? Her former teacher, whose life Natalie made miserable? Or the head girl, who seemed to hate Natalie one day and adore her the next?

When strange letters arrive at the school and Eve finds a bottle of Natalie’s perfume in the most unexpected place, she senses time is running out to save Robin’s good name. Eve had better study her suspects and unmask the real killer… before they give her a fatal mark!

An utterly delightful and page-turning English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Frances Evesham, J.R. Ellis and Agatha Christie.

I really enjoyed this case and being back with Eve, my favourite amateur sleuth. For this outing we are at the affluent Southwood School where Eve and Viv are catering its Founder’s Day event and where the demise of our murder victim, past student Natalie Somerson, takes place on the grounds.

Familiar faces make a welcome return and there are plenty of new ones to suspect of the crime. Natalie rubbed a lot of people the wrong way, and when Eve’s own boyfriend Robin becomes the prime suspect, Eve becomes embroiled in the case and sets out to clear his name.

Perfectly written and executed, just when I think I couldn’t love this series any more, along comes another instalment that just gives me even more to love. It really is the gift that keeps on giving!

Thank you to Clare Chase, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of Mystery at Southwood School, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Amazon Australia, US & UK. I will also add to, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, Foyles and BookBub if available.

BUY LINKS

Amazon AU
Amazon US
Amazon UK

AUDIBLE BUY LINKS

Audible AU
Audible US
Audible UK

Audio Sample

MYSTERY AT SOUTHWOOD SCHOOL BOOKS ON TOUR

Follow the tour along the way for these bloggers thoughts about this book. My thanks to Bookouture for my spot on this books on tour and for the promotional materials

LET’S GET TO KNOW CLARE CHASE

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

AUTHOR LINKS

Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
Goodreads
Website
Author email sign up

2 thoughts on “Mystery at Southwood School by Clare Chase #BookReview #BooksOnTour #MysteryAtSouthwoodSchool #CozyMystery #Series @ClareChase @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s