Murder at the Priory Hotel by Merryn Allingham #BookReview #BooksOnTour #MurderAtThePrioryHotel #CozyMystery #Series @MerrynWrites @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing Murder at the Priory Hotel by Merryn Allingham, published by Bookouture.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Join Flora Steele – bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, and amateur detective – as she faces her most puzzling case yet!

Sussex, 1957: When Flora Steele andhandsome crime writer Jack Carrington attend the grand re-opening of the Priory Hotel in the beautiful little village of Abbeymead, their day out is cut short when the flame-haired female singer in the band suddenly drops dead before their eyes.

Flora is stunned by the unexpected turn of events and immediately deduces foul play. Beverly Russo was a spirited young woman with a big voice and Flora is determined to get to the bottom of her untimely demise – especially as the detective sergeant leading the investigation is so hopeless. The first clue in the extraordinary case is Beverly’s missing ruby ring…

As Flora makes her enquiries, she discovers that Beverly wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea and there’s more than one person in Abbeymead who had reason to dislike her. But who had the biggest motive: Beverly’s former beau Tommy May, jealous love rival Sally Jenner, or the local doctor who seems to be up to no good…

Then one of the suspects is found dead in the woods near the Priory Hotel. The murder weapon – a musical instrument. As the investigation reaches a high note, Flora knows she must find the culprit and make them face the music before anyone else is hurt. But will Flora’s tenacity put a dangerous spotlight on both her and Jack?

A delightful cozy crime novel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis!

Murder at the Priory Hotel, which is the 4th book in the Flora Steele series, is another great mystery to solve. I love being transported back to 1950’s Sussex and be reunited with its cast wonderful characters.

In this tale Allingham takes the reader to the village of Abbeymead for the re-opening of the Priory Hotel. What should be a day of fun for those in attendance, turns into tragedy when the lead singer from the band hired to play, Tutti Frutti (love the name!), drops dead under suspicious circumstances.

Everything is brought to life well through its vivid descriptions and engaging writing. Flora and Jack continue to work well together, albeit with some tension between them and there are enough characters to suspect. All round The Murder at the Priory Hotel is another enjoyable and entertaining addition to this charming series.

Thank you to Merryn Allingham, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Murder at the Priory Hotel, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play, Barnes & Noble and BookBub if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

BUY LINKS

Amazon AU
Amazon US
Amazon UK

MURDER AT THE PRIORY HOTEL BOOKS ON TOUR

Follow the tour along the way and see what these bloggers also thought about The Ex Husband. My thanks to Bookouture for my spot on this tour and for the promotional materials.

LET’S GET TO KNOW MERRYN ALLINGHAM

Merryn taught university literature for many years, and it took a while to pluck up the courage to begin writing herself. Bringing the past to life is a passion and her historical fiction includes Regency romances, wartime sagas and timeslip novels, all of which have a mystery at their heart. As the books have grown darker, it was only a matter of time before she plunged into crime with a cosy crime series set in rural Sussex against the fascinating backdrop of the 1950s.

Merryn lives in a beautiful old town in Sussex with her husband and one last cat, Bluebell. When she’s not writing, she tries to keep fit with adult ballet classes and plenty of walking.

AUTHOR LINKS

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads
Website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s