Old Bones Lie by Marion Todd #BookReview #OldBonesLie #PoliceProcedural #CrimeThriller #Series @MarionETodd @canelo_co #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing Old Bones Lie by Marion Todd, published by Canelo Crime.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missing, the police in St Andrews work quickly to locate the vehicle. Their efforts prove in vain when no trace is found and they realise the wives of both officers also appear to have left the area. Is this a case of corrupt guards springing a felon, or innocent people caught in the crossfire?

DI Clare Mackay leads the team but has to do without her right hand man; DS Chris West is a cousin to one of the missing prison officers and must not be involved in the case. With a new sergeant at her side plus a previously unencountered DCI, Clare’s people skills are pushed to the limit. Especially once she realises her boss is keeping her on the sidelines. Just what is it that Clare doesn’t know? And if she has to choose between keeping secrets from a friend, or letting slip something that could see a culprit go free, which path will she take?

A compelling addition to the bestselling series by a much-loved Scottish crime author, perfect for fans of Caro Ramsay, Lin Anderson and Alex Gray.

“DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty…”

They say that diamonds are a girls best friend, Has the temptation for jewels and perhaps enough riches to start a new life tempted two prison officers to do the unthinkable, or are they and their wives victims in a much bigger plot?

Just when I couldn’t love this series anymore, along comes another belter of a read! Old Bones Lie is the perfect example of what I love in a police procedural and showcases Todd’s amazing talent as an author.

This is one gripping and addictive read that kicks off the action right from the outset. Completely hooked and glued to the pages, I was taken down a twisty path and had a great time alongside DI Clare Mackay trying to solve the crime that keeps you on your toes until its thrilling conclusion.

Thank you to Marion Todd, Canelo and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of Old Bones Lie, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google read Play Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, Foyles and BookBub if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

BUY LINKS

Amazon
Apple Books
Kobo
Google Play

LET’S GET TO KNOW MARION TODD

Marion grew up in the City of Dundee, now home to the magnificent V&A Museum.  Always a keen writer, she has had point-of-view pieces published in the Dundee Courier and short stories in My Weekly magazine.  She won first prize in the Family Circle Magazine Short Story for Children Competition in 1987.

​Before becoming a full-time writer, Marion worked as a lecturer, candle-maker and hotel lounge pianist, a job which provided rich material for her novels.  

​In 2018 Marion was long-listed for the Sunstory Award and the Scottish Arts Council Short Story Award and in 2019 was short-listed for Dundee Rep’s Stripped programme.

​More recently, Marion has turned her hand to crime fiction and in 2020 was shortlisted for the prestigious Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year award with her novel See Them Run, the first in the DI Clare Mackay crime series.

​Marion lives in North East Fife overlooking the River Tay and is a sometime babysitter for her daughter’s unruly but lovable dog.

​Marion is published by Canelo and represented by Northbank Talent Management.

AUTHOR LINKS

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads

Website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s