Cold Grave by Jenny O’Brien #BookReview #ColdGrave #PoliceProcedural #Series @ScribblerJB @HQstories #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing Cold Grave by Jenny O’Brien, published by HQ Digital

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Seventeen-year-old Bryony Lloyd’s father drops her off at a friend’s house to study – but when he returns to pick her up there’s no sign of her, and the woman who lives in the house swears she lives alone. Bryony has vanished into thin air, and her ‘friend’ doesn’t seem to exist.

DI Gaby Darin immediately sees similarities with another missing-persons case: seventeen-year-old Christy Taylor, who vanished without warning several months earlier. There’s nothing in the girls’ personal lives to suggest trouble at home – could someone have taken them both?

After a third case is linked, Gaby knows time is running out if she’s going to find Bryony and Christy alive. After going missing over a year ago, this girl’s just been found dead.

When a tragic accident means Gaby loses a vital member of her team, she distracts herself from her grief by throwing herself into finding the missing girls. Even if it means putting her whole career on the line…

A gripping and thrilling mystery for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean and Cara Hunter. Cold Gravewill have you hooked!

It’s every parent’s worst nightmare…

They say all good things must come to an end and Cold Grave is a fitting farewell to this wonderful series, that has been an absolute pleasure to read over six books. There are not many characters that leave a mark on you, but Detective Gaby Darin has done that for me and she is up there as one of my all time favourite characters.

For Gaby’s last hurrah, we see an unsolved case come to light again when another two teenage girls go missing under similar circumstances. The team have their work cut out for them to solve this case, but nothing can prepare them for the tragedy that is to come.

This is a well crafted, fast paced police procedural that will have you on the edge of your seat. O’Brien once again nails the tension and suspense that she builds throughout making for a very compelling, thrilling and highly addictive page turner.

So with this being the end of the road for the Detective Gaby Darin series, whilst I am sad to have turned the final chapter in this story, I can’t wait for Jenny O’Brien’s future offerings and to connect with a whole new bunch of stories and characters.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, Foyles and BookBub if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK.

BUY LINKS

Amazon
Apple Books
Kobo
Google Play

LET’S GET TO KNOW JENNY O’BRIEN

Born in Dublin, Jenny O’Brien moved to Wales and then Guernsey, where she tries to find time to both read and write in between working as a nurse and ferrying around three teenagers.

In her spare time she can be found frowning at her wonky cakes and even wonkier breads. You’ll be pleased to note she won’t be entering Bake Off. She’s also an all-year-round sea swimmer.

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s