The Beach House by Beverley Jones #BookReview #TheBeachHouse #Thriller @bevjoneswriting @TheCrimeVault #onceuponatimebookreviews 

Today I am reposting my review on its paperback publication day for The Beach House by Beverley Jones, published by Constable.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The perfect place to hide. Or so she thought . . .

When Grace Jensen returns to her home in Lookout Beach one day, she finds a body in a pool of blood and a menacing gift left for her.

The community of Lookout Beach is shocked by such a brutal intrusion in their close-knit neighbourhood – particularly to a family as successful and well-liked as the Jensens – and a police investigation to find the trespasser begins.

But Grace knows who’s after her. She might have changed her name and moved across the world, deciding to hide on the Oregon coast, but she’s been waiting seventeen years for what happened in the small Welsh town where she grew up to catch-up with her.

Grace might seem like the model neighbour and mother, but nobody in Lookout Beach – not even her devoted husband Elias – knows the real her. Or how much blood is on her hands.

The hottest, edge-of-your-seat summer thriller, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty and The Holiday by T. M. Logan.

A dead body in your kitchen is the last thing you would ever expect finding upon your return home. But this is the predicament that our lead Grace Jensen finds herself in. When the community of Lockout Beach find out, they’re rocked to their very core. But no one is more so than Grace when she realises that this is personal and deeply buried secrets from her past are about to catch up with her and be exposed. Whatever could she be hiding? 

I had such a great time with this cleverly spun tale as I was carried into the pages watching it all unfold from the sidelines. The mystery of the dead body and the secrets that Grace has been hiding, fuelled my curiosity and had me eagerly reading until I knew all. It was well worth the all nighter that’s for sure!

This is the first book that I have read from Beverley Jones and I am excited to read more! She had me captivated and hooked right from the very first page with this one. Her writing is engaging and fluid, the characters skilfully crafted and its setting is just perfect. There is nothing I love more than a when a backdrop of the ocean is used in a story.

All up The Beach House is a very entertaining read. It is gratifyingly wicked, dark, atmospheric and will have you flicking the pages long into the night!

BUY LINKS

Amazon
Waterstones
Foyles
Book Depository
bookshop.org
Goodreads

LET’S GET TO KNOW BEVERLEY JONES

Beverley Jones, also known as B E Jones, is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and general book obsessive. Bev was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff.

She started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers, writing stories for The Rhondda Leader and The Western Mail, before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today TV news, based in Cardiff. She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV.

Most recently Bev worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning.

Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of ‘true crime,’ and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

Her latest novels, Where She Went, Halfway and Wilderness, are published by Little Brown under the name BE Jones. Wilderness has recently been optioned for a six part TV adaptation by Firebird Pictures.

AUTHOR LINKS

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Website
Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s