Little Rumours by Bryony Pearce #BookReview #LittleRumours #Thriller #NetGalley #AvonBooks #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing on its publication day Little Rumours by Bryony Pearce, published by Avon Books.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

It started with a rumour. But rumours can be deadly…

In a small town, three mothers wave goodbye to their children at the school gates.

Naomi has lived in Exton Cross since she was born, and she knows everything there is to know about everyone.

Aleema hates it here. It’s been three years and she’s yet to make a single friend. And she’s sure the other mums whisper about her behind her back.

Kelly is an outsider. New to the town, she arrives with nothing but her son – and a dark secret.

By the end of the school day, one of their children will be missing. And rumours will swirl that one of them knows why…

Secrets and lies will come to light with devastating consequences in this dark and twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Adele Parks.

When I read the blurb for this book and saw it was another story with a missing child trope, which I am trying to avoid having read so many over the last year, I wasn’t going to request it, but it intrigued me and I was curious to read Pearce’s spin on it.

Little Rumours really had the potential to be such a great book, but unfortunately it missed the mark for me. Slowed down by the pace to begin with, it does pick up for a more thrilling second half but, I just wasn’t invested in it as I was hoping to be going in. I couldn’t connect with the characters and found them too unlikeable, which never normally bothers me as I quite like unlikable characters, but these ones went over my tolerance threshold.

I really wish I could have enjoyed this one more than I did and I am in the minority with my view on it, so if it interests you, definitely check it out. Just because this one in particular did not connect with me, I am not sorry that I read it. I did enjoy the style of writing, the use of multiple points of view and the sensitivity in handling the other hard hitting tropes that are covered. Based on these points I would read another book from her.

Thank you to Bryony Pearce, Avon Books and Netgalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Little Rumours, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play, BookBub and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s