The Hidden Child by Rebecca Griffiths #BookReview #BooksOnTour #TheHiddenChild #Mystery #Thriller @rebeccagriffit7 @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am taking part in the books on tour and reviewing The Hidden Child by Rebecca Griffiths. This was released on the 24th of February, published by Bookouture.

Book Description

Connie splashed through puddles, the rain slapping her face. Everywhere was tarmac and concrete, fog and drizzle, but no sign of her child. ‘Have you seen my daughter? Please, you must’ve seen her?’ Connie’s face crumpled, preparing to cry. But there wasn’t time for tears, she told herself, she had to find her child.

Manchester, England, 1965: In an instant Connie’s life has changed. She only left her daughter Kathy alone for a moment but that was enough for her to vanish without a trace. As Connie desperately searches for her, she has to put the news reports of other missing children to the back of her mind. She is determined to find her safe. She will bring her daughter home.

As local farmer Ronald listens to the news, he is shocked by what he hears. He has spent his life away from the spotlight, quietly tending to his farm. But when a young couple begin acting suspiciously on his land, he knows that trouble is about to reach his door.

And then he sees her. A girl in a bright red coat who looks completely lost. Ronald knows he needs to help keep her safe and find her family. But on the wild and desolate farmland, Ronald has buried his own dark secret. Can he risk it coming to light to save her life?

Inspired by a real-life true crime story, this is an unforgettable and totally gripping mystery thriller perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Elly Griffiths and Found.

(Previously titled: The Body on the Moor)

“A child is missing…A secret is waiting to be found”

Fact and fiction seamlessly blend together in this tale based on the true story of the infamous Moors Murders. These heinous crimes, its perpetrators, Ian Brady and Myra Hindley and its location, just chill me to the bone, but I couldn’t wait to dive in for Griffiths interpretation having throughly enjoyed her last book The Girl at My Door based on the crimes of John Reginald Christie.

The Hidden Child is a well researched, executed and compelling tale that had me flicking the pages long into the night. Griffiths engaging writing paints such a vivid picture, I found myself transported into the story experiencing it from the sidelines. The characters are well developed and brought to life and its sensitive themes are handled well.

A gripping read from beginning to end, The Hidden Child is a much read for fans of tales based on true crimes.

Thank you to Rebecca Griffiths, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Hidden Child, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Amazon
Apple Books

Kobo
Google Play

Audible AU
Audible US
Audible UK

Audio Sample

The Hidden Child Books on Tour

Follow the tour along the way for these bloggers thoughts on The Hidden Child. My thanks to Bookouture for my spot on this books on tour and for the promotional materials.

Let’s Get to Know Rebecca Griffiths

Rebecca Griffiths grew up in mid-Wales and went on to gain a first class honours degree in English Literature. After a successful business career in London, Dublin and Scotland she returned to rural mid-Wales where she lives with her husband, a prolific artist, their four black rescue cats, two pet sheep the size of sofas and writes full time. 

Social Media: Twitter: @rebeccagriffit7

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s