Darkness Falls by Robert Bryndza #BookReview #DarknessFalls #CrimeThriller #Series #NetGalley @RobertBryndza @BooksSphere #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing on its publication day Darkness Falls by Robert Bryndza, published by Sphere Books.

Book Description

Kate Marshall’s detective agency takes off when she and her partner Tristan are hired to investigate a cold case from over a decade ago. Twelve years previously, a determined young journalist called Joanna Duncan exposed a political scandal that had major repercussions. In the fallout she disappeared without trace and was never found.  

When Kate and Tristan examine the case files, they find the trail long cold, but they discover the names of two young men who also vanished at that time. As she begins to connect their last days, Kate realizes that Joanna may have been onto something far more sinister than anyone first believed: the identity of a serial killer preying on the people who few will ever miss. 

But the closer Kate comes to finding the killer, the darker things become…

Give me a book to read by Robert Bryndza any day and I am one happy girl! Insanely talented, I can’t get enough of his books and this latest instalment in the Kate Marshall series is no exception! This can be read as a standalone but, you would be crazy to miss out on the other two fantastic books before reading this one!

A dark, intense and a full of suspense tale, which he is the master at, Bryndza takes the reader along for the ride with its lead Private Investigator Kate Marshall and her partner Tristan Harper as they become embroiled in a complex investigation involving a cold case. I really enjoyed this case and the one big giant can of worms it opens and was immediately hooked from the outset to its jaw dropping finale.

As always Bryndza has weaved his magic and delivered another first class read that I just devoured! An absolute masterclass in the crime thriller genre, this series just keeps getting better and better with each book! I do have to admit that I was in the middle of reading another book when the opportunity presented itself to read Darkness Falls, but as soon as it landed on my Kindle, the other book was temporarily forgotten…(sorry (not sorry) to unsaid author…)

Now, do yourself a huge favour and jump on board with this series and Bryndza’s other books. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to Robert Bryndza, Sphere Books and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Darkness Falls, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Apple Books
Google Play

Other Books in the Series

Let’s Get to Know Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza is best known for his page-turning crime and thriller novels, which have sold over four million copies in the English language.

His crime debut, The Girl in the Ice was released in February 2016, introducing Detective Chief Inspector Erika Foster. Within five months it sold one million copies, reaching number one in the Amazon UK, USA and Australian charts. To date, The Girl in the Ice has sold over 1.5 million copies in the English language and has been sold into translation in 29 countries. It was nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award for Mystery & Thriller (2016), the Grand prix des lectrices de Elle in France (2018), and it won two reader voted awards, The Thrillzone Awards best debut thriller in The Netherlands (2018) and The Dead Good Papercut Award for best page turner at the Harrogate Crime Festival (2016).

Robert has released a further five novels in the Erika Foster series, The Night Stalker, Dark Water, Last Breath, Cold Blood and Deadly Secrets, all of which have been global bestsellers, and in 2017 Last Breath was a Goodreads Choice Award nominee for Mystery and Thriller.

Most recently, Robert created a new crime thriller series based around the central character Kate Marshall, a police officer turned private detective. The first book, Nine Elms, was an Amazon USA #1 bestseller and an Amazon UK top five bestseller, and the series has been sold into translation in 15 countries. The second book in the series is  the global bestselling, Shadow Sands and the third book, Darkness Falls will be published in  late 2021.

Robert was born in Lowestoft, on the east coast of England. He studied at Aberystwyth University, and the Guildford School of Acting, and was an actor for several years, but didn’t find success until he took a play he’d written to the Edinburgh Festival. This led to the decision to change career and start writing. He self-published a bestselling series of romantic comedy novels, before switching to writing crime. Robert lives with his husband in Slovakia, and is lucky enough to write full-time.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s