Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers #BookReview #MurderAtTheLakesideLibrary #CozyMystery #NewSeries #HollyDanvers @crookedlanebks #onceuponatimebookreviews

Today I am reviewing Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers. This was released on the 13th of July, published by Crooked Lane Books.

Book Description

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmot must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmot has just returned to her family’s waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain’s corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain’s mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer, on the premises.

The community of Lofty Pines starts pointing fingers at Willow, since she has been unusually absent from the library this summer. A fishy rumor surfaces when Rain learns that Willow had been spending a lot of time with Thornton. The town even thought they were having an affair.

While theories swirl about Thornton’s death, Rain takes it upon herself to solve the case to exonerate her mother. As more clues surface, Rain will have to piece together the mystery. But if she isn’t careful, she may be the next to end up dead in the water in Murder at the Lakeside Library, the first in Holly Danvers’ new Lakeside Library mysteries.

We join Rain as she sets out to her family cabin to seek solace after the death of her husband. When she discovers Thornton dead it begins to look like she might lose her mother Willow too, but this time to prison. She can’t accept that her mother could be guilty of murder, so she plunges herself in to solving the mystery. But is she on the right track and what will it cost her?

A summer cozy mystery was just what I needed whilst in the middle of Winter in Australia. I was able to imagine myself lying out in the sun by the lake with my iced tea watching the story unfold before my eyes. I throughly enjoyed this mystery and its outcome.

Murder at the Lakeside Library is another super fun read in the cozy mystery genre. A well plotted story with a great cast of characters, it can be quite repetitive and over descriptive at times but, I was easily able to overlook this and it was still enjoyable all the same.

Thank you to Holly Danvers, Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Murder at the Lakeside Library, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Buy Links

Amazon
Apple Books
Kobo
Google Play

Let’s Get to Know Holly Danvers

Holly Danvers grew up devouring every mystery novel on the shelf of her local library. She lives in the Midwest with her husband and 3 chickens, where she’s already plotting her next novel.

2 Comments

  1. I love a good cozy crime x

    1. Me too. Nice change from all the gore!

Comments are closed.

marnie harrison

I am all about sharing the book love so I hope you enjoy your visit to my blog and find your next great read 😊