The Vacation by M.M. Chouinard #BookReview #TheVacation #PsychologicalThriller @m_m_chouinard @Bookouture #onceuponatimebookblog

Today I am reviewing on its publication day The Vacation by M.M. Chouinard, published by Bookouture.

Book Description

One of them is missing… One of them did it… 

The Thanksgiving retreat was meant to be a time for them to get away from it all, miles from the secrets that threaten to tear their family apart. But they’re each hiding something:

Rose hopes the pretty house overlooking the sea is just the break her family needs. But as she gazes at the water and remembers her own childhood, she is utterly terrified.

Brandon knows his wife Rose has barely forgiven him for his affair. He’s started drinking again, a road that led him to disaster once before.

Brianna, Rose’s sister-in-law, is recovering from her fifth miscarriage, and when she looks at her adorable niece, she can’t help but see the daughter she deserves.

Then three-year-old Lily disappears from her bed in the villa. Isolated in what should have been paradise, it quickly becomes clear that one of them took her.

As one by one their secrets are uncovered, who will be destroyed next?

A completely addictive thriller about every parent’s worst nightmare that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Guest ListOne by One and The Sister-in-Law.

If you are a regular reader of my reviews then you know how much I love M.M. Chouinard’s work and her Detective Jo Fournier series. So you could imagine my delight when I heard she was releasing her first standalone thriller. Although I could never get enough of Jo Fournier, it was great to read what M.M. Chouinard could do outside of a series. Let me tell you, she nails it!

Right off the bat this book moves at full steam ahead. M.M. Chouinard pulls the reader into the pages and you are thrown straight into the thick of it as you become embroiled in a parents worst nightmare. It’s subject matter is tough and whilst there are stories out there of the similar nature, this one really stands out above the rest.

The cast of characters. are diverse and a mix of likeable and unlikeable. Told from the point of view from three of the women, gives the reader great insight into their own relationships, what they think of each other’s and the motivation behind the unimaginable. Each with secrets to hide, it was hard to know who to trust as each narrative becomes more unreliable as the story progresses.

This read just flies by with it’s short chapters that compel you to read just one more. Good luck with trying to put this one down as I definitely couldn’t. This one got me right in it’s clutches and didn’t let me go until that final page. I just had to know how it was all going to unfold.

As always the writing is impeccable and the way it is delivered, first class. M.M. Chouinard could write a book on toilet paper and I would be first in line to read it! You just know you are going to brilliant read each and every time when you read one of her books and The Vacation is no different. It really is a masterclass on the genre.

The Vacation is an emotionally charged, gripping and intense read that will take your breath away. In true M.M. Chouinard form the twist is jaw dropping and will shake you to your very core. Another brilliant story that you must add to your reading this year immediately.

Thank you to M.M. Chouinard, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Vacation, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Buy Links

Amazon
Apple Books
Kobo
Google Play

Let’s Get to Know M.M. Chouinard

M.M. Chouinard is the USA Today, Publishers Weekly, and Amazon Charts bestselling author behind The Vacation and the Detective Jo Fournier series (featuring The Dancing Girls, Taken to the Grave, Her Daughter’s Cry, and The Other Mothers)

Author Links

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Website

marnie harrison

I am all about sharing the book love so I hope you enjoy your visit to my blog and find your next great read 😊