The Islanders by S.V. Leonard #BookReview #TheIslanders #CrimeThriller @SVLeonard @canelo_co @CaneloCrime #onceuponatimebookblog


Today I am reviewing The Islanders by S.V. Leonard. This was released on the 11th of March, published by Canelo Crime.

Book Blurb

Her dream escape is about to become a nightmare…

Kimberley King has spent the last five years trying to outrun the reason she left the police force. Her life is a mess and she’s desperate for change. So when she is randomly selected for the new series of the hit show LoveWrecked, she can’t pass up the chance to win the £100,000 prize. All Kimberley needs to do is couple up with one of her fellow contestants, win the infamous LoveWrecked challenges, and she will have enough cash for a fresh start.

But the island isn’t the paradise she was promised and within hours, one of the contestants is dead. Then the announcement comes: one of the islanders is a murderer and Kimberley must find out who, live on television. For every hour it takes her, one more person will die.

The game is rigged, everyone is hiding secrets, and time is running out…

An addictive and unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and T.M. Logan.

When former police officer Kimberley King is randomly selected to take part in reality TV show LoveWrecked, she thinks taking part and winning the £100,000 prize money is the chance she has been waiting for to move on and get a fresh start. But when one of the contestants is found dead, what she didn’t imagine is she would be racing to reveal a killer before more of her competitors are murdered. Will she succeed?

One of my guilty pleasures in life is watching reality TV, so when The Islanders was brought to my attention, it was a no brainer that I read this one. What a nail biting, heart-pounding read this is! I was hooked right off the bat and could not get enough! A thrilling tale, with strong characters and a satisfying outcome, I couldn’t have asked for more!

I loved the writing in this book and how at ease S.V. Leonard is throughout. Showing the reader a confidence like she has been doing this for years, her style is very engaging, vivid and played out in my head like I was also there experiencing it as the characters do. Thankfully I wasn’t killed in the process!
As a debut, S.V. Leonard has done a fantastic job with The Islanders. An exciting new voice in the Crime Thriller genre, she is definitely one to watch and I will be eagerly awaiting to read what she comes up with next. It was such a pleasure to read and review The Islanders which I highly recommend.

Thank you to S.V. Leonard and Canelo Crime for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Islanders which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Purchase Links: |  Amazon  |  Apple Books  |  Kobo  |  Google Play  |

Let’s Get to Know S.V. Leonard

S.V. Leonard grew up in the little coastal town of Formby, a suburb of Liverpool. She studied Classics at Oxford University and has been lucky enough to live in Australia, Poland, and Malaysia. She is now based in London. When not writing, she can be found breaking out of escape rooms; doing historical walking tours of London; or drinking wine.

Social Media:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SVLeonard
Website: https://svleonard.wordpress.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/svleonardauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s