The Chain by Joy Richards #BookReview #WomensFiction #JoyRichards @Bloodhoundbook #onceuponatimebookblog

 

Today I am reviewing The Chain on its publication day by Joy Richards, published by Bloodhound Books.

Book Blurb

What does it take to make a house a home?

When four sets of strangers all decide to move, their lives become linked and changed forever.

Paul is a young man who is struggling to piece his life back together.

Married couple Florence and John are having problems.

The empty-nesters Claire and Michael are adapting to their new life.

Sarah and Alex are a city power couple who are hoping to relocate.

As each of them navigate the troublesome path of buying and selling houses, relationships come under strain.

Does moving to a new house mean a fresh start? And is home really where the heart is?

The Chain is a gripping new novel which is the perfect read for readers of contemporary women\’s fiction and for fans of authors like Amanda Prowse, Kerry Fisher, Diana Chamberlain.

For these homemakers, they couldn’t have imagined that the buying, the selling, the packing, the moving and the unpacking would turn out to be the simple part of the life change they have all embarked upon. How will they navigate the other changes in their lives including to what they thought where unshakable relationships?

The Chain drew me into its interesting concept immediately upon reading the blurb. So far removed from my more normal reads that are quite dark, it was a refreshing change to step away from that and lose myself in a read that was a lot lighter.

The cast of characters are a diverse bunch and each have been very well developed. I found this to be a very character driven tale and each are instrumental to the story, playing out their role perfectly. I really liked each and everyone of them, learning about their lives and how they become linked together.

The ease of Joy Richards writing made for a very enjoyable reading experience and had me completely invested in the story and its characters. The pages just turned themselves in this book and I was disappointed when it had come to the end as I was enjoying it so much.

The Chain is an addictive and entertaining read that has plenty or drama as well as some lighthearted moments. Joy Richards is an author I am glad to have been exposed to and I will be eagerly awaiting her next book. It was a pleasure to read and review The Chain, which I highly recommend.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.


Buy here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s