No Obvious Cause by Valerie Keogh #BookReview #NoObviousCause #CrimeThriller #Series @ValerieKeogh1 @Bloodhoundbook #onceuponatimebookblog

Today I am reviewing on its publication day No Obvious Cause by Valerie Keogh, published by Bloodhound Books.

Book Blurb

Could you solve the mystery?

A murder followed by a series of random, motiveless crimes leave Detective Garda Sergeant Mike West and his team puzzled.

When Edel Johnson arrives at the scene of a crime Mike is taken aback, more so when he discovers she is now working with a victim support group. He has feelings for her, but he is the garda who investigated her husband\’s murder, and their relationship is complicated.

With crime in Dublin’s suburbs at an all-time high, and his superiors breathing down his neck, West doesn\’t need the distraction. But someone wants Edel out of the way, and it\’s up to West to find out who…

No Obvious Cause is a murder mystery with a touch of romance, set in the Dublin suburbs. It\’s the second book in the Dublin Murder mystery series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone. It will appeal to fans of authors such as Peter James, LJ Ross and Ruth Rendall.

*** This book was previously published under the title Close Ranks ***

For Detective Garda Sergeant Mike West’s second case, we see him completely stumped when trying to solve the murder of Foxrock resident Gerard Roberts. By all accounts Gerard is a model citizen with no skeletons in his closet, so why would someone want to murder him? If this is not complicated enough, when Mike turns up at the residence to investigate, he is reunited with Edel Johnson who is now a volunteer with a victim support group. Things then get even stranger for Mike and his team after Gerard’s Murder, when a string of senseless crimes where no one is hurt, take place for no apparent reason. Trying to solve the crimes as well as getting a grip on his feelings for Edel, things take a turn for Mike when Edel gets caught up in the investigation and it appears she could be the next target.

Even though this is only the second book I have read in the series, I can honestly say it has fast become one of my favourites series, with Valerie being one of my favourite authors. Every time I read a book from her, it is like catching up with an old friend and over a cup of tea, she transports me into the world of her characters and their stories. This is exactly what happened with No Obvious Cause. Right from the beginning I was taken captive and was caught up in the thick of it with Detective Garda Sergeant Mike West trying to solve this latest case. The story, which is told through brilliant writing that is so visual, also made me feel like I was right there by his side the whole time.

What I do love most about this series apart from its quirky characters, is along with the crime element there also a touch of romance and humour to balance the crime out. Another bonus, is witty writing that includes lines like “Not that there was anything pressing about a dead body; It wasn’t going to get any more dead”!, gave me many a chuckle and these little gems are scattered throughout which makes this an even more enjoyable and entertaining read. Also an unfortunate incident with Mike and a feminine hygiene product at the supermarket when he runs into Edel, also provides a good laugh and just reinforces how much I love his character. Poor bugger, I really did feel for him in this part! Although not without flaws, he is a great guy and does try to do his best at all times and is like a dog with a bone in ensuring each case is solved and that justice is served for the victims families.

With a well researched and solid plot, well developed characters and writing that is flawless, engaging and witty, you really can’t go wrong with this book. You also get quite an education into the unique murder weapon used that killed Gerald Roberts. Not knowing what this was, I am now very well versed in it thanks to Valerie! Although No Obvious Cause is the second instalment in the series, it can be read as a standalone. I do recommend though to read the first in the series No Simple Death, to fully immerse yourself in the setting and it’s characters and just because it is another fantastic read. I am so happy to have been introduced to this series and I can’t wait to see what Valerie has in store for my favourite detective in the next instalment. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review No Obvious Cause which I highly recommend.

Thank-you to Heather Fitt from Bloodhound Books for inviting me to the publication day party and for providing me with a copy of the ebook of No Obvious Cause which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

This review will be added to, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Amazon Australia & Amazon US. I will also add to NetGalley, Apple Books, Kobo, Google Play and Barnes & Noble if available. As I am from Australia, I am unable to add to Amazon UK, but will post to Waterstones & Foyles if also available.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s